Kaunas School of Medicine was incorporated into Kauno kolegija/ University of Applied Sciences in 2001 as the Study Centre of Medical and Social Sciences. Following the orders of Kauno kolegija/ University of Applied Sciences Director, in 2007 the name Study Centre of Medical and Social Sciences was replaced by the Faculty of Health Care, and in 2012 became the Faculty of Medicine. The Faculty of Medicine is one of the largest faculties, which has about 1,800 students, and implements study programmes of 2 study areas: biomedical and social sciences of 6 study fields such as rehabilitation, medical technology, nursing, oral care, medicine and health, pharmacy and social work. The 12 study programmes include Cosmetology, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Biomedical Diagnostics, Radiology, Dental Technologies, General Practice Nursing, Midwifery, Pharmacy Technique, Oral Hygiene, Dental Care, and Social Work. The Faculty is managed by, acted on behalf of and represented by the Dean. Academic activities are being administered by the Vice-dean. The main structural unit of the Faculty is a department, which implements study programmes and conducts applied scientific activities.

There are 7 Departments in the Faculty of Medicine (those of Cosmetology, Rehabilitation, Biomedical Diagnosis, Oral Health, Nursing, Pharmacy Technique, and Social Work) with their own lecture rooms, offices and laboratories. The academic staff of the departments includes associate professors, lecturers and assistants. The main directions of the performance of the departments are ensuring the quality of the ongoing study programs as well as conducting applied research. The Faculty also employs administrators of study quality, part-time studies, organization of the study process, practical training, and project coordination, who are involved in the organization and coordination of the study process and its monitoring.